Off to the races……

Standard

 

An ex co-worker gave me this book to motivate me after transplant...and I am definatly motivated now!!

I’d say this is the first at super busy weekends since my transplant.  I am very excited, however, nervous.  My docs have changed around my meds quite a bit and I know that it will make me feel icky at times.  BUT I AM HERE!!! and I get to spend a holiday with frinds and family!!! That is the most important.  Tomorrow morning we leave for Evansville to go to Dane’s aunt’s house.  Then off to Lake Moses for time with my mom and stetp-dad.  Then off to St. Stephen for time with my dad and step-mom.  Dane mentioned to me tonight that this is the first Thanksgiving in more than two years where I will be able to hang out and enjoy everything.  awwwwwww….

Cardio rehab this morning was a bit slow and I really slept hard last night so that tells me I am really get alot out of my days.  Today is no exception.  I did try to get by with out wearing a mask in cardio rehab and that was a no no, and I asked my transplant cordinator if I should wear a mask around the big Thanksgiving gatherings and she said yes.  Since my white blood cell count has been all over the place, and all the med changes, and rejections she wants me to be safe.  I do what they say.

I’ve set up a domain, and official e-mail for the new non-profit “Young Adult Heart Foundation”, and started creating brochures and logos.  I’ve also drafted letters to hand out to clinics/hospitals so that doctors can tell their patients about the organization.  The next step is to set up the web site and produce handouts for actual members.  I also met with president and founder of a media and event company who is really interested in guiding me through this process and also seeing what else we might be able to come up with together.  He really seems to understand where I am coming from and sees the value of my passion towards my mission.  But honestly here is the deal……people say all the time that they don’t want to work, and I’ve always thought that those people who love their job are just the few lucky ones.  I have liked my jobs in the past don’t get me wrong, but did I wake up in the morning and jump out of bed excited to go to work? Sometimes.  Mostly because of the people I worked with not because of what I was doing per say.  I think I deserve the chance to find THAT job that I would love.   I’d say all know me well enough to know that I would not be happy doing nothing.

There is a chance that this weekend Dane and I will pick out our cross country skis!!!! So excited!!! It has been a while since I was outside during winter and enjoyed it!! I am guessing the skiing will also be great training for the 5Ks!!!!!!! I am going to pick the brightest most crazy ones I can find…..This weekend we might also bring back an excersize bike from my dad’s house to put in our work out area in the basement (which for tax ID purposes is the headquarters for the new non-profit!).

Drive safe everyone and don’t eat too much.  There is always left overs.

 

 

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

2 responses »

  1. Dear Maria & Dane ~ Have a super, fantastic Thanksgiving celebration with family and friends!!! You have so much to be thankful for and i am so delighted with all the progress you have been making. Keep up the good work; make a difference in someone’s life…be all you can be…love life to the fullest. And, please be safe in all the travels, ok?!? May God bless you on all your adventures! Love you both ~ Sandie

Leave a Reply

