Big Ideas in a Big World

Standard

Today I had my biopsy and clinic visit with the American Heart Association videotaping most of it.  Besides the excitement of having something like this videotaped, the video crew and interviewer were awesome.  I had met them before when they came to my house to do a video shoot for the AHA for a similar reason.  Getting footage together for the Go Red Luncheon this year.  Being in the cath lab and around my docs, nurses, and video crew make me remember that there are so many really great people out there.  I some times assume most people are out for themselves.  Oh wait, that is corporate America… I met a fellow heart transplant patient at the hospital and we talked with a heart patients being evaluated for transplnat and also visited a patient in the hospital who just had an LVAD (left ventricular assist device) put in and he also seemed to really get the “new lease on life” idea already.  He looked great after just having the LVAD put in and I wish him and his wife the best.  The docs said he will most likely be on the list for 1-2 years waiting for his heart.

My biopsy went well.  I am getting more scar tissue in my neck around my vein so it gets harder and harder for them to get in, which is normal.  My results will be in later today or tomorrow.  My blood work is good!!! I should probably get better with my iron levels, but nothing too extreme.  White blood cell count is still up (6) which is a bit too hight now but that is because of the rejection I had.  They have adjusted my meds to fix things.  Lately I have really felt steady I would say.  I am getting much more accustomed to the new way my body feels and acts.  The doctor said I should be ready to go back to work the begining of next year.  But as my title implies…….

I want to see what I can do….what I am capable of.  I will see if I can start with consulting but also get my groups up and going.  YEAAHHH…

 

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

One response »

  1. Iam so proud to have met and know Maria. I think the docs and nurses love seeing us running around the hospital. I know you are going to do great things Maria.
    Your Heart Buddy Bill #683

Leave a Reply

