Wednesday, June 1, 2011 7:19 PM

Standard
Get My Groove On

Hi All,

I finally had another fairly decent night of sleep which always helps me a ton when I am not feeling good.  Yesterday was a tuffy.  Hadn’t been sleeping well and very run down.  Plus Matt, Hege, and the kids were leaving which was emotional.  I am also trying to adjust to life at home.  I definatly don’t have the energy I did before I was in the hosptial so it took a day of frusteration learning that I have to ask for things.  Previously, I figured it would take too long to explain things so I just do things myself.  Can’t do that anymore and it really pisses me off.

The home nurse came to the house today to check my IV line, change bandages, and see how I was doing.  Based on what I told her my symptoms were and how I looked she called my transplant coordinator and said she was a little concerned.  I know I probably would qualify to wait in the hospital but my anxiety and comfort level are very important to me right now.  Not to mention the fact that germs can be easily passed in hospitals.  I told her that I wanted to give myself a fair chance at feeling better.  Dane and I have been home two days since I got back from the hospital and since then it was the event and then Memorial Day weekend and family fun.

Tomorrow I may try to go to cardio rehab, then I am participating in a study at the U of MN regarding heart failure, then it is the trasplant support group.  Whew!  Friday Dane and I have tickets to Circus Du Sol which I am so excited about.

This weekend we are going to the Second Chance for Life picnic.  Second Chance for Life is a non-profit group that supports individuals going through or who have had transplants.  They are the ones who put on the heart transplant support group at the U of MN.  A few U of MN doctors will be there speaking as well as tons of heart transplant survivors.  I will be happy to be a part of that.

The U of MN has not done a heart transplant in three weeks which is very odd.  They averages about one a week.  I am hoping I am the next one.

Hope everyone had a wonderful day!

Maria

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

