Wednesday, July 27, 2011 4:20 PM

Standard
Head up and arms open…
                Hi everyone!!

  I am typing from my newest toy.  We broke down and with help from my mom and Roger bought a tablet pc.  I tell ya…this thing has my mind occupied for hours!! Which is kind of the point, well that and I have to turn in my laptop from work.  We also thought it would be great to watch movies on in the hospital and keep in touch with everyone.
  How am I doing..the million dollar question.  I am ok.  I passed the 90 day mark and have been very cranky because of that.  We all thought I’d be well on my way to recovery by now. If I was perfectly honest my energy is lower.  My body really needs at least 10 hours of good sleep now and my appetite hasn’t been the best.  I was able to go to cardio rehab this morning so I will start to build some endurance back.  Not going to cardio rehab for even a week really makes a difference.  The normal time allowed for cardio rehab through insurance is coming to an end so my doctors are hoping they can convince insurance to extend the time.
  I have been having ALOT of pump issues.  It has been beeping almost daily.  The beeping in my case is for high pressure in the lines probably due to filament or blood clots at the end of the cathater.  It isn’t a huge issue but if my medication can’t fully go through the line and I am not getting enough that could be a big deal.  Fairview Home Infusion has been wonderful and sent people out right away to try to fix the issues.  Hopefully it is fixed now and hopefully soon I get my call so I can take this annoying pump off!!
     I had my photo shoot for MN Monthly magazine yesterday and that went well.  My mom and good friend and transplant survivor Keilee was also in the photo shoot.  She was last year’s Go Red For Women MN spokes woman and I have been chosen to be this years spokes woman so she is doing a great job of training me in.  The MN Monthly issue where we will be featured will be the October issue and the pics will also be on several billboards and bus stop signs.   It is very exciting and I just hope to be able to help others may have to go through what I have been through.
  Dane has been very busy.  He has been working alot and still interviewing for fulltime employment.  He gets to burn off steam by playing softball and working out/running so I think that is really good for him.  But I think both of us are really antzy.  We just want this part to be over with so we can go on with our lives.   I am sure my parents would say the same thing.  But we will hang in there like always.  With our heads up and arms open.
  Love you all!!
Maria
About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

