Tuesday, March 29, 2011 5:31 PM

Standard

Glad today is over.  Roger came done and went with Dane and I for more tests.  The right heart cath was more painful that I had expected and I was so anxious that when it was over I started crying.  I was just so terrified that something bad was going to happen.  Turns out my right side heart pressure and pressures in my lungs are good, but I was in atrial flutter (a type of arrythmia).  My neuropsych apt was cancelled because the right heart cath took too long so that has been rescheduled for Thursday.  Dane and Roger met with my main heart failure doctor, Dr. Prizker.  He was very patient and direct with them, which is why I like him (well that and his teady bear bow ties doesn’t hurt).  He did say that there is more of a chance of rejection because of my alopecia.  There is also the option of and LVAD if my condition gets worse and transplant is far away.  An LVAD is a left ventricular assist device which is an external pump that runs on a battery.  If all goes well I could be on the transplant list as early as three weeks and I could be on the list for up to a year.     For now it is good to be home for the night and I plan on staying in bed for most of the night and hope that the arrythmia goes away before tomorrow so I don’t have to be shocked out of it.
I will update more tomorrow.

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

