Thursday, August 11, 2011 8:32 AM

Standard
Almost there…

I am told I have to try to update the journal daily, so here is my first attempt at that.  Life at the hospital is very busy, they weren’t kidding in saying that it would be hectic.  Yesterday I think there were either doctors or nurses in the room the whole day.  Which wasn’t for bad reasons!!! There are alot of education classes and prep for when I go home.  We met with pharmacists, transplant coordinators, surgens, etc.  Today will be more of the same.  I’ve already had my meds, blood surgar taken, seen the rounding docs, then I go down for my biopsy around 9:30 and they are going to do a CT scan of my abdomen because I have been having alot of lower abdominal pain.  They want to see if it is fluid or gas or maybe my ovarian cysts.  After CT we will probably meet with the pharmacists again and then they will start to schedule when I can get my last drainage tube out as well as my 3 month long pic line that I have had in.  On top of that I will be on several walks, doing cardio rehab, and strenghtening my breathing with a breathing machine.

The big question I am hearing is how different do I feel compaired to before.  Well it took a few days to recover from the operation but I KNOW I wouldn’t be able to get through recovery this fast with my old heart.  I walked up and down the stairs 3 times in a row!!!!! Before I would be able to do that but I would be very tired.  I can also wake up with in a few minutes.  Before it would take me an hour to really be ready to get out of bed.  I also had to get at least 10-11 hours of sleep a night and now I can manage with 6-7.  I can also tell that whole body doesn’t ache and isn’t sore, I mean I am sore from the surgery don’t get me wrong, but I just felt sick all the time.  I also can rest and actually feel better!!! Before resting didn’t seem to do much for me.

It is still unbelievable what has happened.  I looked at the pics of the surgery and am still amazed at the difference.  It is also weird to see the heart beat a normal beat on the monitors.  It is so perfect I almost think it is a fake line.  The rest of my states are supper!!! BP is in good range, heart rate is staying stable, and now more my blood suger is holding!!

Well I am going to sign off, lots to do today and they just called me for the biopsy!!

Bless you all and will update tomorrow!

Maria

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

