Sunday, September 4, 2011 11:24 AM

Standard
Things Happen
                Hi Everyone! Happy Laborday Weekend!

  I hope everyone has something really fun or relaxing planned.  Dane and I were going to head to St. Cloud but things happen.  Tuesday night I had a little fall in the middle of the night.  I got up to fast to go to the bathroom and fell and didn’t know where I was.  Dane was up and everything was ok, but my doctors wanted me to go into the ER to get checked.  Against my doctors orders I did not go in.  The next day and even now I feel really good.  I don’t have any other signs of rejection or of things not going well.  I just didn’t want the stress of a few days in the hospital.  What I think happened is this…….
  When a heart gets transplanted the never connection from the heart to the brain is cut and most of the time does not grow back.  When people get up fast and do things they normally rely on that nerve connection telling the heart to speed up, but in a transplanted heart, the speed up signal has to come from adrelaline.  Adrelaline takes time to pump through the body so there is a delayed response of the heart rate.  It is normal for me now to get up too fast and feel dizzy and have ringing in my ears due to this.  So this is what I thimk happened Tuesday night, and that is why I chose not to go into the ER.  Dane and I have been very careful the last few days and will stay in St. Paul just to be careful.  I am bummed because I was looking forward to seeing friends and family, but I want to do everything right and cautiously.
  The good news is that I have been sleeping better, and Dane and I went for a brisk walk around the block this morning and I could walk and talk and walk fast and was not at all out of breath!! Not even when we got back and went up the stairs!! I still have a great appetite and love meat.  My hair and nails are growing like crazy.  My only complaints now are that my back hurts sometimes, my sternum is sore, and I am shakey.  That is it…..I mean really…how wonderful is that!  I have so much to be thankful for!!
  Next week I start cardio rehab three times a week, and on Thursday I have my month baseline testing.  This will include an angiogram, ekg, echo, blood work, biopsy, etc.  A full day of testing and for the angio I will have to be on bedrest for several hours after.  Roger and maybe my Mom will come down for yhat day and of course my good buddy Bill will be around.  Lots of love and support so I will be ok.
  I am feeling well enough to visit people and hang out but I am a bit self conscious about my shaking.  I love my people magazine subscription, I started reading a book that was given to me, we use everything! To the Sartell girls…..the Amazon gift certificate is going to a nice new pair of tennis shoes to train in!! The teas, lotions everything is awesome, thank you Stericycle!!
  I wish to everyone a wonderful safe Laboryday weekend.  I cant to wait to see everyone soon.  I love ypu all!
Maria
About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

