Saturday, May 28, 2011 1:50 PM

Standard
Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

Maria Here,

It might take a while for me to stop thanking everyone for everything that was done and for the whole event.  I still haven’t wrapped my head around everything.  I talked to my transplant cordinator and was telling her how overwhelmed I was with the generosity of everyone and how I didn’t know how I would be able to pay people back the love and support I have been given.  She said the best thing you can do is to take that new heart and be the best person you can be.  When things are all said and done to show support for all of those people who came out to see you and to just be an outstanding person of the community.  So, I am on it.  It might take me a while to get enough energy to do it but I will get there.

Yesterday, I slept for 4 hours in the afternoon and felt pretty sick in the evening so I wasn’t much of a participator of events.  Matt and the kids were back and forth between my mom’s and dad’s so I got to see them when I was awake.  Sarah Omann stopped by to go for a run with Dane, Hege, and Matt (I think she kicked their asses!).  Today so far I am moving slowly.  I took a shower this morning, which is quite the depackle with a IV pump that can’t be disconnected for a minute and can’t get wet.  I have been in and out of the house getting sun when it is shinning and resting when it goes away.  Tonight Matt and Hege are making their famous Ribs for everyone.

We are not sure when we will be back in St. Paul (hopefully soon if the call comes), but we need to miss traffic but want to stay as long as possible.  We’ll see.  Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and bless you all.

Maria

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

