Monday, March 28, 2011 11:39 AM

Standard

Today starts the second week of testing for transplant.  Last week was more difficult than I expected.  I started getting stomach cramps and upset around Monday night to Tuesday and by Tuesday night the pain was so bad I headed to the emergency room at the U of MN.  I was kept for a few hours for observation and they concluded it was either a stomach virus or irritated intestinal lining.  The rest of last week I was unable to eat or sleep much.  I have been warned about my weight getting to low and with the stomach thing it is even harder to keep it up.  However, I still had blood tests, echos, urine tests, etc for the transplant screening.  I also met with a social worker and when to a heart transplant support group.
The next two weeks I have taken a leave from work to be able to recover from this stomach thing and get through the testing.  It is more emotional exhausting than I could have ever expected.  Tomorrow, Roger and Dane will go with me to the tests scheduled for tomorrow.  Right Heart cath and memory tests.  They also have an appointment to meet with the social worker.  I am still fairly weak from last week and I hope to start to be able to eat more and get more energy soon.
Hope all is well with everyone!

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

