Monday, June 6, 2011 8:09 PM

Standard
Dr. Check

Hello All,

Feeling better since my last journal write.  Turns out I wasn’t feeling well because I was retaining 3lbs of fluid!  I also had a pedicure and girly shopping with two wonderful transplant survivors Keilee and Angie so that really lifted my spirits.

I had a doctor appointment with Dr. Pritzker today.  We went over labs and discussed ways to further optimize myself before the transplant.  My doc came down pretty hard on me again because I am still a bit anemic and he would like my BMI to be higher.  I know he is saying things out of experience so I am really trying to do everything he says.  I have to start weighing myself EVERYDAY and try to eat more things with higher caloric and nutritional value.  Sounds easy but for me the first thing that happens when I don’t feel well is I lose my appetite.  He actually suggested I  eat icecream!!!!  You won’t hear that everyday!!  I now am scheduled to see him weekly.

My doc is also not allowing me to go outside on hot humid days such as today.  So, I have been stuck inside most of the day.  From the looks of the forecast tomorrow will be the same thing.  Not to worry…..Dane is here with me and it sounds like Lisa and Rony Sutton will be visiting later in the day tomorrow.  I am also on my second season of Dawson’s Creek and I am starting the first season of My So Called Life.  But to be honest…..I am some how just as busy now as when I was working.  Monday and Fridays I will be starting cardio rehab, Wed. the home nurse comes to change my bandages for the PICC, Thursday is transplant support group.

Lizzy is loving me home and I am slowly getting used to life at home.  It seems before I know it Dane is telling me that we should head to bed.  So just wanted to update all of you that I am doing better and am hoping my time comes soon.  I am ready.

Love you all,

Maria

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

