Friday, November 11, 2011 12:02 PM

Standard
I saw snow flakes yesterday!

Hi Everyone!

I was discharged from the hospital Thursday night already!! With the pulses of steroids I was bouncing off the walls so I think they wanted to get me out of there 🙂  I have lots of energy and spunk now, mostly because of the increased steroids, which is fine with me.  It is fun to be so energetic!  This Monday I had another biopsy which showed that I still had the 1R rejection, but the docs didn’t seem concerned so I am not going to be either.  The good news is that with the med changes my white blood cell count is way up!!! I was at 1.7 and now am at 9.  The normal range is 5-10.  I am off quarentine but still need to take it a bit easy until the rejection is gone.  Tuesday the American Heart Association came to our house to do a video interview on me and Keilee (a sister heart transplant patient).  The video will be shown at the Twin Cities Go Red Lunchen and maybe some public notice announcements closer to Go Red month (February).  The AHA will also be following me to a biopsy and clinic visit in two weeks.  I am thinking that will be for more public announcements closer to Feb.

Overall, I am doing very good….nothing out of the ordinary that the doctors don’t expect and I am recovering well.  I am still wrapping my head around the emotional/mental aspect.  I had been close to a few patients waitinf for hearts in the hospital while I was recovering from my transplant and they were not as lucky as me.  It hits me hard but also motivates me.  The docs have been hinting for me to start thinking about going back to work a few hours in about three months so I have been doing alot of soul searching to find out what I really want to do.  I REALLY enjoy reaching out to other heart patients and being a mentor of sorts.  A few of us transplants/heart patients have even talked about starting our own non-profit.  We are seeing this common story of younger adults with heart disease that maybe can’t hold a full-time job or try to and their health suffers for it.  Also, keeping insurance and paying for medical needs is hard, so we are just throwing out ideas.  For now, I have a few online support groups, am very involved with the support group Second Chance for Life at the University, Go Red with the AHA, and next week I will start volunteering for Donate for Life by going to driver’s ed classes to talk about organ donation.  I also found out a few distant family memebers who’s kids have the same heart problem as me!! It is my hope to really be able to support people like this as I won’t have kids myself.  However, I don’t want to completly abandon what my schooling was for as I did enjoy it.  So we’ll see.  My world went from a very limited narrow path to a wide open field and I find myself so overwhelmed at times.  But I have faith that things will work out for the best.

Have a wonderful Friday everyone and a great weekend!!

Love Always,

Maria

About marialegatt

I am a 33 year old girl (I say girl because I act and look young all the time) who has had heart disease her whole life. In the last few years I have had severe congestive heart failure and in August of this year recieved a heart transplant. This is my journey to be girl/woman who I could never have been before. I plan to set outstanding goals and achievements and hope people support me along the way good or bad.

Leave a Reply

